NZRYA Council Update #1

Fellow Sailors Here is an update on NZRYA Council activities that have been taking place recently.

Of the incumbent councillors, Chairman Carl Smith and Secretary Steve Champion had chosen not to seek re-election for the 2014/15 financial year. Councillor Bill Bradley had resigned for personal reasons. The three remaining members declaring themselves available for re-election.

Nominations to fill any vacancies were received for Paul Goddard (NSRYS), Grant Lane (NMMS) and Linton Little (GHRYC).

As there were only 6 nominations for the 6 Council positions, it was decided no election was necessary and the 5 remaining incumbent Councillors voted unanimously to hand over the transmitter to the incoming Council as of Friday 16th January 2015.

Since this decision was made one of the 6 incoming Councillors has chosen to resign.

The remaining incoming councillors have arranged to meet on Saturday 17th January 2015 to appoint Executives, allocate portfolios and plan the way ahead. We will keep you updated on progress and look forward to progressing with a new Council and a revised/updated sailing program for 2015.

There now remains 1 position to fill on this new Council and we seek your co-operation and nominations to fill this vacancy. Preferably nominees from one of the out of Auckland clubs that are not represented Waikato, Kerikeri, or Christchurch. If you are keen to roll your sleeves up and help progress radio yachting in NZ please email Paul Goddard at

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, News, NZRYA Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s